The Hamilton School District mail-in ballots have been slowly coming into the County Election Office, according to Ravalli County Clerk and Recorder Regina Plettenberg.

The Hamilton district is the only one in the country with mail-in ballots for this set of school elections. The official voting day is May 7th, Tuesday, with with polling places and balloting in the other districts, but only mail-in ballots in Hamilton, due by 8 p.m. At this point, Plettenberg urges voters not to mail the ballots, but bring them in person the County Administration Building on South 4th Street, in order to make sure they arrive in time to be counted.

It's a short ballot with Two 3-year positions on the school board being contested by Dee Hensley-Maclean, Demaris Keefe Moore and Mark Yoakam. A one-year term has Lee Tickell running against a late write-in campaign by Terry Nelson.

The district voters will also decide whether to authorize the board to sell the Grantsdale School property. The elementary school is closing its doors in June.

KLYQ and KGVO should have election results Wednesday morning.