Contact Us

States Will Regulate Gray Wolves

gray wolf
(Tracy Brooks photo)

The US Fish and Wildlife Service is publishing a final rule reinstating the terms of a 2009 rule removing gray wolves in Idaho, Montana and parts of Oregon, Washington and Utah from the Federal List of Endangered and Threatened Wildlife.
Gray wolves will remain listed under the Endangered Species Act in Wyoming, though the Fish and Wildlife Service is working with Wyoming officials on a plan that would allow gray wolves in that state to also be removed from the list. The final rule will be effective immediately upon publication, which is May 5, 2011.
The states and the FWS will monitor wolf populations in the Northern Rockies for at least 5 years to insure “robust” population numbers.
Montana’s US Senator Jon Tester and US Congressman Denny Rehberg applauded the delisting move, but Rehberg was cautious.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Tester and Idaho Representative Mike Simpson included the delisting provision in the 2011 federal funding bill, which passed Congress last month.
The Department of the Interior also is publishing a proposed rule to remove gray wolves from the ESA in the Western Great Lakes area – including Minnesota, Michigan and Wisconsin and parts of adjoining states. Acting Fish and Wildlife Service Director Rowan Gould said, “The gray wolves in the Western Great Lakes are recovered and no longer warrant protection under the Endangered Species Act.” Public hearings and public comment will be taken on that proposal until June 5th.
Defenders of Wildlife president Rodger Schlickeisen was critical of the ruling, saying, “…the action…sets a terrible precedent for side-stepping America’s bedrock environmental laws…” He said conservationists and the Fish and Wildlife Service must “rigorously monitor wolf populations.”

Best of KLYQ

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KLYQ Club VIP quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KLYQ Club VIP contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.