Contact Us

Twitch Already Making Changes to its New Policies

Twitch
Twitch

After careful consideration of “an incredible amount of feedback” (read: outrage) following the recent announcement of some strict policies, Twitch has decided to modify a few of its new rules in the hopes of appeasing its longtime users.

Twitch has announced that the maximum time limit on highlights is being purged, once again allowing players to make highlight videos be as long as they please. Considering highlights will never get deleted from the site but past broadcasts will, expect a lot of highlight packages being just as long as its original video.

More importantly, Twitch is implementing an appeal button for anyone who is affected by the new Audio Recognition system. You may recall the new tech that scans 30 minutes of video for any signs of copyrighted music, then mutes the whole 30 minutes if even one second of unauthorized audio is heard. In an effort to make the system “as fair and unobtrusive as possible,” users can now appeal the muting. One example for a justified appeal would be if the errant audio is the user’s ringtone playing from a mobile device.

These two changes are a step in the right direction, and the blog post teases even more adjustments to come, but the damage may already have been done. After the presentation of these new regulations yesterday, streamers were left with a sour taste in their mouths. We’ll see how these changes affect Twitch in the long run before they become Google’s property.

Next: Twitch's Major Policy Changes to Audio Streaming

Best of KLYQ

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://klyq.com using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KLYQ Club VIP quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KLYQ Club VIP contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.