There was a flurry of activity last week on the first day of filing for election in Ravalli County. So far, only two positions are contested in the 2018 elections - with a primary election in June and the general election in November. Those two races are: Justice of the Peace Department 2 between Jim Bailey and Perry Johnson and State House District 86 between Republicans Jacob DeVries and David Bedey.

Filing for state legislative seats are: Republicans Pat Connell for Senate District 43, Theresa Manzella in House District 85, Nancy Ballance in House District 87, Sharon Greef in House District 88. In District 88, Independent Evan Anderson and Democrat Margaret Gorski have filed.

County filings were all Republicans: Regina Plettenberg for Clerk & Recorder/Election Administrator and Superintendent of Schools, Bill Fulbright for County Attorney, Greg Chilcott for Commission District 1, Chris Hoffman for Commission District 2, and Jeff Burrows for Commission District 3, Steve Holton for Sheriff, Dan Whitesitt for Treasurer/Auditor/surveyor.

For Justice of the Peace, as mentioned earlier, Jim Bailey and Perry Johnson for Department 2, and Jennifer Bedey Ray for Department 1.

The filing deadline is March 12. For a complete list of state and federal office candidates, check the Montana Secretary of State's website. There, you'll find filing information for the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.