The Bitterroot Winter Special Olympics has had hundreds of volunteers through the 37 years of the event at Lost Trail Powder Mountain. And a big role is played by local law enforcement when the awards are presented.

Volunteers from six law organizations presented the medals and awards at the Wednesday sports ceremonies for each sport - including X-Country, Alpine Ski, Snowboard, Beginners Downhill and Snowshoe, Walk and Glide and more. Those who signed up for duty this year were: Chris Colgan, James Ray and Tim Johnson from the Ravalli County Sheriff's Office, Jessica Hayward from Hamilton Police Department, Rebecca Burket, Jerianne Schmidgall, Brandon LaRocque and Josh Uylaki from Missoula County Sheriff's Office, Shawn Silvan and Scott Bennett from Montana Highway Patrol, Truman Tolson, Jenna Volinkaty and Nathan Mattix from Missoula Police Department and Stephanie Zacha from U.S. Forest Service, Bitterroot National Forest.

The community always comes through for support for the annual Winter Special Olympics.