The Bitterroot Valley towns of Hamilton, Darby and Stevensville have city elections this fall. Voters have a chance to meet the Hamilton and Stevensville candidates at voter forums this month. Darby does not have a forum scheduled.

The Bitterroot Valley Chamber of Commerce has set the dates for the forums:

  • October 5 - Stevensville at the Stevensville High Multipurpose Room
  • October 11 - Hamilton at the Hamilton Middle School auditorium
  • The candidates will have "meet and greet" time from 6:15 to 7 p.m. each evening. The forum with questions from reporters of the Ravalli Republic, Bitterroot Star and NewsRadio 1240 KLYQ will be from 7 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

    Invited to the Stevensville forum are Mayoral candidates Mark Adams, James V. (Jim) Crews and Brandon E. Dewey. Ward 1 candidates are Robin Holcomb and Laura Miller. Ward 2 candidates are Jerry A. Phillips and Raymond Smith.

    Invited to the Hamilton forum are Mayoral candidates Travis Martinez and Dominic Farrenkopf. Ward 1 candidates are Kristi Bielski and Eric Monson. Ward 2 candidate (unopposed) is Rod Pogashar and Ward 3 candidates are Kenneth S. Bell and Claire Kemp.

    Steve Fullerton of 1240 KLYQ will be moderating the forums.

    Though the Chamber of Commerce was not successful in finding a suitable night for the Darby meeting, here are your candidates: Mayor - JC McDowell and Willard "Buck" Titus. Ward 1 (unopposed) George M. Cuff. Ward 2 (full-term) George Costello, (Unexpired term) Jasen D. Lewis and Bret Rider. Council at-large (Unexpired) Bill DeSpain, Pamela J Hart-Schlapman.

    All three municipal elections are "Mail-in" ballots, with the ballots being sent to qualified electors on October 18. They must be returned by 8 p.m. November 7 at the Ravalli County Election Office on South 4th Street in Hamilton.