Two newly elected council members were sworn in at Hamilton City Hall Monday morning, January 6. Robin Pruitt and Dan Mitchell took the oaths of office from Mayor Dominic Farrenkopf in a short ceremony. Also taking the oath of office was re-elected councilperson Jenny West. The re-elected city treasurer, Al Mitchell, was sworn in by the mayor to complete the ceremony. City Judge Michael Reardon was sworn in a few days ago. Pruitt and Mitchell will be seated at their first council meeting next Tuesday, January 14.

The oath is standard throughout Montana: “I do solemnly affirm that I will support, uphold and defend the Constitution of the United States of America, and the Constitution of the State of Montana, and that I will discharge my duties of the office of City Council with fidelity, I so affirm.”

Mayor Farrenkopf and new councilman Dan Mitchell. (Steve Fullerton, Townsquare Media)